1.     How much does it cost to join?

The annual levy for 2018/2019 has been set at $20.00 per person.

2.     Who can join the Long Bay Residents’ Association?

The Association is open to all Long Bay home owners and occupiers over the age of 16 living within the area shown on this Plan. To become a member, you must complete the application form which you can find Here

3.     How is the Association governed?

The Rules of the Association (which you can find Here) set out the purpose of the Association and how it is governed. The Association has a Board made up of 3-9 Directors including a Chairperson. The Rules allow the Board to exercise decision-making powers, and provide for a Secretary to carry out administrative responsibilities. The Board is answerable to the members of the Association, and must report back to the members at the Annual General Meeting, or other general meeting if called during the year.

4.     Who elects the Directors to the Board of the Residents’ Association?

The Directors are elected by the members at the Annual General Meeting. Directors generally serve for three years. The Directors then elect a Chairperson and a Secretary.

5.     What are the benefits of joining the Long Bay Residents’ Association?

The Association has been created to represent the interests of the residents in the Long Bay Development.  Its purpose is to foster neighbourhood relationships to provide a sense of community, and to protect and promote your living environment to further enhance the lifestyle at Long Bay. It will also provide an easy way for residents to communicate as a group with Auckland Council, and other authorities.

As a member you will have the opportunity to attend meetings where you can raise and discuss issues affecting the community.

6.     How many people will eventually live in the new Long Bay development?

There may be approximately 5,000 people living in the new Long Bay residential community over the next 10 years or so.

7.     Which local board represents me?

Hibiscus and Bays local board. The Chairperson is Julia Parfitt (email: julia.parfitt@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz) and the ward councillors for Albany are John Watson and Wayne Walker.